Philip G.M.C. Vergauwen

Philip VergauwenPhilip G.M.C. Vergauwen is currently Dean of the Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management (SBS-EM), Université libre de Bruxelles. He was previously Dean of the Maastricht University School of Business & Economics (SBE-UM) (2013-2017) where he was full professor Controlling, and Department Chair Accounting & Information Management, Director of the international Executive Master of Science of Finance and Control (iEMFC) of the Maastricht University until 2013. From 2007-2010 he was Dean of the Faculty of Business Economics of the Universiteit Hasselt (Belgium) after having served as Chair of the University Council of the Maastricht University (2003-2004).

Philip was also Member of the AACSB Board of Directors (2015-2017), Chairman of the AACSB European Advisory Council EMEA, and Continuous Improvement Review Committee. He is Chair of the International Advisory Board of KEDGE Business School (Bordeaux-Marseilles-Paris), Chair of the Advisory Board of the United Nations University – MERIT/UM and Member of the DEAKIN Business School (Melbourne, Australia) international Advisory Board.

He holds a degree of Doctor Honoris Causa of the Jyväskylä University (School of Business and Economics) in Finland (May 2019). Philip also holds a Ph.D. in Economics (Doctor in de economische wetenschappen) from Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (K.U.L.), M.Sc. in Economics from London School of Economics (L.S.E.), and Licentiaat Economische Wetenschappen, Magna Cum Laude from Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (K.U.L.).

He teaches management accounting and management control with a focus on sustainability, innovation and technology and has extensive experience as lecturer at different universities, e.g. Business School of the University of Auckland (New Zealand), Open University (Heerlen, The Netherlands), Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Leuven (Belgium), Flanders Business School (Lessius Hogeschool), Antwerp (Belgium) and Leti-Lovanium International School of Management (St. Petersburg, Russia).