Business Practices Council


The purpose of the Business Practices Council (BPC) is to serve as a collaborative partnership for an ongoing and sustainable relationship between the business community and business schools at the business education industry level (AACSB). Council members are invited to bring their perspectives, expertise and insights to discussions as the BPC seeks to improve business education worldwide and to engage with the AACSB network in matters of mutual interest for mutual advantage. Serving on BPC allows members to:

  • Work closely with prominent business educators to help shape the future of business education, ensuring that the world's top institutions continue to graduate high-potential leaders with the skills needed to build a more prosperous future.
  • Get connected to the best practices, thinkers, and ideas in business education by being part of the AACSB Business Education Alliance, and share and gather insights that improve the quality of internal and external lifelong learning and development programs for your teams.
  • Build partnerships to co-create and solve some of the world's most challenging business problems.
  • Network with our global membership of business school deans and corporate leaders to develop your products and services to more effectively meet the needs of the marketplace.


No later than May 1, the Vice Chair-Chair Elect (who shall preside as Board Chair during the year for which the appointments are made), or his or her designated representative, invites suggestions for the members of the BPC for the next fiscal year beginning July 1. Members of the Board of Directors, current BPC members, and AACSB staff are encouraged to submit names of possible candidates. Recommendations are due to the Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect within 14 days of the request.

The Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect, in consultation with the current BPC Chair and the AACSB staff liaison, as appropriate, appoints members of BPC no later than June 1 with council members taking office July 1.

BPC is composed of a Chair, four to six business school deans or those holding similar roles, and ten to fourteen members of the business community, with the public, private, and social sectors represented. One business practices member from each regional advisory council may also be appointed to the BPC.

Each BPC member serves a one-year term and may be reappointed, subject to the approval of the Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect and the current BPC Chair, and terms are staggered as appropriate.

The Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect appoints a BPC Chair who is a business practitioner, and may be appointed for a term of one, two or three years. The BPC Chair may also be appointed to the AACSB Board of Directors.

The composition of the BPC reflects AACSB’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. The BPC Chair and the BPC staff liaison ensures that BPC membership includes diversity in gender, job functions/roles, etc.


Tracey Golden, Association of International Certified Professional Accountants


Ignacio Bartesaghi, Universidad Católica del Uruguay Dámaso A. Larrañaga
Caryn L. Beck-Dudley, President and Chief Executive Officer, AACSB International
Shaun L. Budnik
Deborah H. Caplan, NextEra Energy
Sophie Chogovadze, Wendy’s Europe, the Middle East, and Africa
Andrew Currah
Raj Echambadi, Northeastern University
Paul N. Friga, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jake Hansen
Tony Lee, Society for Human Resource Management
Mike Malefakis, University of Pennsylvania
Jean-Francois Manzoni, IMD
Molly Nagler, PepsiCo, Inc.
A. Michael Smith, NASDAQ
Xuan Yan, Microsoft

Staff Liaisons

Becky Gann, Assistant Vice President, Membership and Strategic Relationship Management, AACSB International
Michael Wiemer, Senior Vice President and Chief Officer Americas, AACSB International