Confirming Global Quality and Distinction in Business Education

Press Releases
Thursday, April 7, 2022
AACSB announces that 41 business schools have extended their global accreditation in business and/or accounting, and two business schools have achieved initial accounting accreditation.

Tampa, Fla., USA (April 7, 2022)—AACSB International (AACSB) announces today that 25 business schools have extended their accreditation in business, one has extended its accreditation in accounting, 15 have extended their accreditation in both business and accounting, and two schools have achieved initial accounting accreditation. 

For more than a century, AACSB accreditation has been synonymous with the highest standards in business education. Today, a total of 935 institutions across 59 countries and territories have earned AACSB accreditation in business. Furthermore, 192 institutions maintain supplemental AACSB accreditation for their accounting programs.  

“AACSB congratulates each institution on their achievement,” said Stephanie M. Bryant, executive vice president and chief accreditation officer of AACSB. “Every AACSB-accredited school has demonstrated a focus on excellence in all areas, including teaching, research, curricula development, and student learning. The intense peer-review process exemplifies their commitment to quality business education.” 
Achieving accreditation is a process of rigorous internal focus, engagement with an AACSB-assigned mentor, and peer-reviewed evaluation. During this multiyear path, schools focus on developing and implementing a plan to align with AACSB’s accreditation standards. These standards require excellence in areas relating to strategic management and innovation; student, faculty, and staff as active participants; learning and teaching; and academic and professional engagement.  

To achieve accounting accreditation, an institution must first earn AACSB business accreditation. Then, in addition to developing and implementing a mission-driven plan to satisfy the business accreditation quality standards, accounting accreditation requires the satisfaction of a supplemental set of standards specific to the discipline and profession of accounting. Once accreditation is achieved, each institution participates in a five-year continuous improvement peer review to maintain high quality and extend its accreditation.  

As ratified by the AACSB International board of directors, the following schools have extended or achieved their accreditation in business or accounting: 

School Achieving Initial Accounting Accreditation 

Qatar University (Qatar) 
University of Nebraska at Kearney (United States) 

Schools Extending Their Business Accreditation 

Aalto University (Finland) 
Boston University (United States) 
California State University, Sacramento (United States) 
Clark University (United States) 
Drake University (United States) 
ESSEC Business School (France) 
Indiana University Southeast (United States) 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States) 
Mississippi College (United States) 
New Jersey Institute of Technology (United States) 
Pforzheim University (Germany) 
Sacred Heart University (United States) 
School of Business, Economics, and Law, University of Gothenburg (Sweden) 
Shenandoah University (United States) 
Siena College (United States) 
Sonoma State University (United States) 
State University of New York at Geneseo (United States) 
Stockton University (United States) 
T. A. Pai Management Institute (India) 
Texas Southern University (United States) 
The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (United States) 
University of Central Oklahoma (United States) 
University of Colorado at Boulder (United States) 
West Chester University (United States) 
West Virginia University (United States) 

School Extending Its Accounting Accreditation 

The University of New Mexico (United States) 

Schools Extending Their Business and Accounting Accreditation 

Auburn University (United States) 
Belmont University (United States) 
Brigham Young University (United States) 
Lehigh University (United States) 
Marquette University (United States) 
Mississippi State University (United States) 
Southern Illinois University Carbondale (United States) 
Tennessee Technological University (United States) 
The University of Mississippi (United States) 
The University of Texas at Dallas (United States) 
The University of Texas at San Antonio (United States) 
University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States) 
University of Wisconsin-Madison (United States) 
Villanova University (United States) 
Wake Forest University (United States) 

News Article Tags