Accounting Accreditation Seminar

February 7, 2019 | Tampa, Florida, USA


Urton_AndersonUrton L. Anderson, University of Kentucky, Carol Martin Gatton College of Business and Economics

Urton is EY Professor and Director of Von Allmen School of Accountancy at the University of Kentucky. His research has addressed various issues in internal and external auditing and organizational governance – particularly compliance, enterprise risk management and internal control. In addition to numerous articles, he has written four books, several of which have been translated into French, Spanish, Chinese, and Japanese. Professor Anderson has been involved in the AAA Audit Section throughout his career. He has served President of the Section (2009-2010). Urton Anderson also is active in the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). He has been Chair of the Institute’s Board of Regents (2003-2007) and Chair of the Internal Auditing Standards Board (2002-2003 and 2007-2010). In 1997 he was named Leon R. Radde Educator of the Year Award by the IIA. In 2006, the IIA recognized his outstanding contributions to the field of internal auditing by giving him The Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award. He served as the Chair of the IIA’s Committee of Research and Education from 2011-2015 and is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of the Internal Audit Foundation. In March 2016 Urton was one of four internal audit leaders from business, government, and academia to make up the 2016 class of the American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners. The honor, established in 2011, annually recognizes individuals who contributed significantly to the profession throughout their careers. Urton also serves on the Board of Directors for the Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics/Health Care Compliance Association and currently serves as its President (2016-2017). From 2011-2012 Urton was as an Academic Fellow in the Office of the Chief Accountant of the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Jon_DavisJon S. Davis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Gies College of Business

Jon S. Davis is the Robert C. Evans Endowed Chair in Business and Interim Director of the Institute of Government and Public Affairs at the University of Illinois System. He previously served as Department Head in Accountancy at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is a CPA in Arizona (retired status) and he worked at Deloitte in tax before pursuing his Ph.D. at University of Arizona. Before rejoining the faculty at Illinois for the third time, he was a professor at University of Wisconsin-Madison and University of Colorado-Boulder. Professor Davis' teaching is primarily in the tax area, and he has also taught cost accounting and auditing. His research has addressed topics in auditing and tax, including compliance in regulatory environments, fraud, tax policy, and judgment and decision making in public accounting. His research employs methods and theories from psychology, sociology, evolutionary biology and game theory.

Shawn_MauldinShawn Mauldin, Mississippi State University, Adkerson School of Accountancy

Shawn Mauldin is the director of the Adkerson School of Accountancy and professor of accounting at Mississippi State University.  He received his BS and MBA degrees from Nicholls State University and his PhD from the University of Mississippi.  He is a licensed CPA in Mississippi and holds the CMA, CFP, and CGMA designations. 
Prior to Mississippi State, he served as dean of the College of Business and chair of the Department of Accounting at Nicholls State University where he held the Cenac Chair in Accounting.  As dean at Nicholls, Mauldin led the efforts to develop an executive MBA program, an online general business degree program, a maritime management program, and to obtain separate AACSB accounting accreditation.  He received the Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award from the Society of Louisiana CPAs in 2006.  He served on the Society’s board for four years and as president in 2012.  Mauldin has served on the AICPA council, AICPA pre-certification committee, Southern Business Deans Association board, and AACSB’s Committee on Accreditation Policy.  
He currently teaches AACSB’s accounting accreditation seminar, serves as Chair of AACSB’s Accounting Accreditation Committee, and serves on AACSB’s Accounting Accreditation Policy Committee.  Mauldin has chaired several initial accounting accreditation peer review teams and served as a team member or chair for several accounting and business continuous improvement reviews.   Mauldin currently serves on the board of the Mississippi Society of CPAs and serves on the society’s education committee.  His research focuses on behavioral accounting and has published and presented over 100 academic and practitioner articles.  .

Bob ReidRobert D. Reid, AACSB International, James Madison University

Robert Reid has more than two decades of AACSB accreditation experience. He served as the AACSB chief accreditation officer from 2012-17 and as a senior executive advisor in 2018. He is dean and professor emeritus at James Madison University, having served 15 years as dean of the College of Business. As dean he collaboratively led 160 faculty and staff recognized for excellence in curriculum innovation, especially in the areas of curriculum integration and experiential learning. While a dean, Bob served on dozens of AACSB peer review teams, the Board of Directors, and several accreditation committees. Bob has conducted numerous professional workshops and seminars for public and private organizations. He is active in leadership coaching for business school deans facilitating their professional growth and the success of the business school. He has co-authored seven editions of Hospitality Marketing Management published by John Wiley & Sons. He holds degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Stout and Virginia Tech. He is a past board member and president of Beta Gamma Sigma and the Southern Business Administration Association.