Global Accreditation Conference

September 22–25, 2020

Global Accreditation Conference Agenda

Sessions will be recorded and made available on The AACSB Exchange to all GAC attendees. To accommodate multiple time zones, some live sessions will be repeated. Conference sessions are subject to change. Please check back regularly for the latest schedule.

Tuesday, September 22, 2020

05:45 a.m.–06:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

11:45 a.m.–12:45 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

05:45 p.m.–06:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Affinity Group Meetings

Timing appropriate for Asia Pacific and EMEA regions.

07:00 a.m.–07:50 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:00 p.m.–01:50 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:00 p.m.–07:50 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DataDirect Session - FUNDAMENTALS

AACSB's DataDirect is widely recognized as the world's primary source for business school education data. Join us to learn more about new features and learn more strategies to benchmark your school's trends against your peers.

Speakers:
  • R. Colin Nelson, Senior Manager, Business Education Research and Data Services, AACSB International
  • Jeanine Romano, Director, Business Education Data, Benchmarking, and Analysis, AACSB International
  • Joshua D. Barillas, Manager, Data Analysis, AACSB International

Membership and Quality Assurance Information Session

Join this session to learn how you can optimally engage in the AACSB Business Education Alliance and what is new and available to you. Staff will also provide an introduction to the AACSB accreditation process.

Speakers:
  • Jane Lawler, Senior Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International
  • Lauren Maradei, Manager, Membership, AACSB International

myAccreditation Session

Learn more about how myAccreditation will streamline accreditation reporting for schools, mentors, team members, and operating committee members.

Speakers:
  • Maria Baltar, Assistant Vice President, Accreditation Operations and Implementation, AACSB International
  • Amy Roberts, Manager, Accreditation Operations and Implementation, AACSB International

08:00 a.m.–08:50 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:00 p.m.–02:50 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:00 p.m.–08:50 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DataDirect Session - EXPERIENCED

AACSB's DataDirect is widely recognized as the world's primary source for business school education data. Join us to learn more about new features and learn more strategies to benchmark your school's trends against your peers.

Speakers:
  • R. Colin Nelson, Senior Manager, Business Education Research and Data Services, AACSB International
  • Jeanine Romano, Director, Business Education Data, Benchmarking, and Analysis, AACSB International
  • Joshua D. Barillas, Manager, Data Analysis, AACSB International

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Affinity Group Meetings

10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Affinity Group Meetings
Wednesday, September 23, 2020

08:00 a.m.–08:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:00 p.m.–02:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:00 p.m.–08:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Conference Welcome

08:15 a.m.–09:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:15 p.m.–03:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:15 p.m.–09:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(A1) Faculty Development & Qualifications

This session will focus on the need for aligning criteria for qualifications and ensuring engagement with mission, programs, and impact. Speakers will offer an overview of both the 15-1 table (2013 standards) and the 3-1 table (2020 standards) and discuss the transition between the tables.

Speakers:
  • Susan E. Lehrman, Dean, Rowan University
  • Irineu G. Gianesi, Dean, Academic Affairs, Insper Instituto de Ensino e Pesquisa

(A2) Strategies for Planning and Executing an Effective Virtual Continuous Improvement Review (CIR) Visit

In the wake of the unprecedented COVID-19 situation, AACSB instructed schools with CIR Visits in 2020-2021 to plan for a virtual visit. If you fall into this category and are wondering how you can facilitate a smooth and productive virtual visit, this session is for you. Hear from a school that recently conducted their CIR visit in a virtual format, as well as a member of their peer review team. Presenters will share planning and visit execution strategies that will lead to a well-coordinated and smooth visit.

Speakers:
  • David J. Urban, Dean, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Markus Rudolf, Dean, WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Management

(A3) Scope & Partnerships under the 2020 Standards

What kind of implications do partnerships have on accreditation? How are schools getting creative with programs? How are they managing multiple partnerships? Hear from experienced speakers to learn more about scope and partnerships as they are explained in the 2020 standards.

Speakers:
  • Adam W. Thomas, Head, AACSB Accreditation, Zurich University of Applied Sciences
  • Keryn Chalmers, Dean, Swinburne Business School, Swinburne University of Technology

(A4) Making an Impact / Standard 9

This session will focus on Standard 9 (Societal Impact) and best practices around what schools are doing to improve society and offer ideas to expand one’s capacity to increase their institution’s impact on society.

Speakers:
  • Cathy DuBois, Associate Dean, Administration, Kent State University
  • Anupama Gupta, Head-Accreditation & ADMAP, S.P. Jain Institute of Management and Research

09:20 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:20 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:20 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Faculty Development & Qualifications Follow up

Join us for an overview of available resources and data to support benchmarking efforts and inform your understanding of faculty qualifications.

Speakers:
  • R. Colin Nelson, Senior Manager, Business Education Research and Data Services, AACSB International
  • Jeanine Romano, Director, Business Education Data, Benchmarking, and Analysis, AACSB International
  • Joshua D. Barillas, Manager, Data Analysis, AACSB International

Scope & Partnerships under the 2020 Standards Follow up

Join us for an overview of available resources and data that can help inform your partnership programs.

Speakers:
  • Joshua D. Barillas, Manager, Data Analysis, AACSB International
  • Jeanine Romano, Director, Business Education Data, Benchmarking, and Analysis, AACSB International
  • R. Colin Nelson, Senior Manager, Business Education Research and Data Services, AACSB International

10:00 a.m.–01:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 p.m.–07:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:00 p.m.–01:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

01:30 p.m.–02:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

07:30 p.m.–08:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

01:30 a.m.–02:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote I: Vitality in the Workforce

Learn cutting edge insights on Vitality to build health, wellbeing and happiness in the workforce. Drawing from the fields of neuroscience, psychoneuroimmunology, occupational health, medicine, and positive psychology, we will present a research-based model on the science of vitality. This session will focus on evidence-based strategies to enhance personal and professional vitality to build sustainable wellbeing, performance, and learning. Join us for an interactive session and walk away with best practices to optimize stress, while energizing learning, leadership, and innovation.

Speakers:
  • Nick van Dam, Chief Learning Officer, Chief IE Center for Learning Innovation, Member of the University Board of D, IE Business School
  • Noémie Le Pertel, Academic Director, IE School of Human Science and Technology, IE Business School

01:45 p.m.–02:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

07:45 p.m.–08:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

01:45 a.m.–02:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Networking Opportunities: Roundtable Discussions

02:30 p.m.–03:15 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

08:30 p.m.–09:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

02:30 a.m.–03:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Networking Opportunities

03:15 p.m.–07:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:15 p.m.–01:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

03:15 a.m.–07:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

EXPO DEMO SESSION - more information coming soon.

07:00 p.m.–08:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:00 a.m.–02:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:00 a.m.–08:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Mission Driven

This session will feature “Mission Driven” examples of institutions tying work back to mission. Speakers will discuss strategies to effectively make good choices and stick to mission in a time of tight budgets and uncertainty. Join us for examples of applying the standards to one’s mission, and vice versa.

Speakers:
  • Chandra Subramaniam, Dean, California State University, Northridge
  • Yongqiang Ma, Dean, School of Accounting, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics
Thursday, September 24, 2020

04:00 a.m.–05:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Networking Opportunities

05:00 a.m.–07:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

11:00 a.m.–01:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

05:00 p.m.–07:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

07:15 a.m.–08:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:15 p.m.–02:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:15 p.m.–08:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Continuous Improvement Review Accreditation Visit Q&A Session

If you have an upcoming CIR visit in the next two years, this session is for you! We invite you to bring questions related to the continuous improvement review, and we will discuss the psychology of a visit, managing a visit, and what to do when the unexpected happens.

Speakers:
  • Betty Jo Licata, Dean, Youngstown State University
  • Faye W. Gilbert, Dean of Undergraduate Business Programs, University of Maine

Initial Accreditation Visit Q&A Session

If you have an upcoming Initial Accreditation visit in the next two years, this session is for you! We invite you to bring questions related to the initial accreditation process, and we will discuss the psychology of a visit, managing a visit, and what to do when the unexpected happens.

Speakers:
  • Thomas M. Begley, Professor, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Nitham M. Hindi, Associate Vice President, Academic Affairs, Qatar University

08:15 a.m.–09:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:15 p.m.–03:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:15 p.m.–09:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(B1) Faculty Development & Qualifications (REPEATED)

This session will focus on the need for aligning criteria for qualifications and ensuring engagement with mission, programs, and impact. Speakers will offer an overview of both the 15-1 table (2013 standards) and the 3-1 table (2020 standards) and discuss the transition between the tables.

Speakers:
  • Irineu G. Gianesi, Dean, Academic Affairs, Insper Instituto de Ensino e Pesquisa
  • Susan E. Lehrman, Dean, Rowan University

(B2) Strategies for Planning and Executing an Effective Virtual Continuous Improvement Review (CIR) Visit (REPEATED)

In the wake of the unprecedented COVID-19 situation, AACSB instructed schools with CIR Visits in 2020-2021 to plan for a virtual visit. If you fall into this category and are wondering how you can facilitate a smooth and productive virtual visit, this session is for you. Hear from a school that recently conducted their CIR visit in a virtual format, as well as a member of their peer review team. Presenters will share planning and visit execution strategies that will lead to a well-coordinated and smooth visit.

Speakers:
  • David J. Urban, Dean, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Markus Rudolf, Dean, WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Management

(B3) AoL and Delivery

This session will share templates and tools to improve your AoL assessments. Speakers will explore the difference between 2013 and the 2020 standards and offer examples and guidance for effectively closing the loop with indirect measures.

Speakers:
  • Marion Debruyne, Dean, Vlerick Business School
  • Nancy A. Bagranoff, University Professor, University of Richmond

(B4) Risk Analysis and Strategic Planning

This session will discuss risk analysis and improving identification of opportunities. Speakers will share practical advice to proactively anticipate risks, mitigate expected problems, and plan strategically so you and your team are prepared.

Speakers:
  • Nikolaj Malchow-Møller, President, Copenhagen Business School
  • Erik Rolland, Dean, California State Polytechnic University Pomona

09:30 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:30 p.m.–04:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:30 p.m.–10:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote I: Vitality in the Workforce (REPEATED)

Learn cutting edge insights on Vitality to build health, wellbeing and happiness in the workforce. Drawing from the fields of neuroscience, psychoneuroimmunology, occupational health, medicine, and positive psychology, we will present a research-based model on the science of vitality. This session will focus on evidence-based strategies to enhance personal and professional vitality to build sustainable wellbeing, performance, and learning. Join us for an interactive session and walk away with best practices to optimize stress, while energizing learning, leadership, and innovation.

Speakers:
  • Nick van Dam, Chief Learning Officer, Chief IE Center for Learning Innovation, Member of the University Board of D, IE Business School
  • Noémie Le Pertel, Academic Director, IE School of Human Science and Technology, IE Business School

10:30 a.m.–11:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:30 p.m.–05:45 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:30 p.m.–11:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

11:45 a.m.–01:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

05:45 p.m.–07:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

11:45 p.m.–01:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

LIVE Interactive Exhibitor Networking

11:45 a.m.–02:15 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

05:45 p.m.–08:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

11:45 p.m.–02:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

EXPO Demo session - more information coming soon.

02:15 p.m.–03:15 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

08:15 p.m.–09:15 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

02:15 a.m.–03:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(C1) Internal Cross Disciplinary Collaborations

Many of us spend time considering improvements to our external partnerships, but what about internal alliances? This session will share strategies to enhance collaboration across programs to improve overall quality.

Speakers:
  • Lucia Tajoli, Accreditation Deputy Director, Politecnico di Milano School of Management, Politecnico Milano
  • Markus K. Granlund, Dean, University of Turku

(C2) Accounting Accreditation

This session will explore the trends and implications that have surfaced from the 2018 Accounting Accreditation Standards. Where were the sticky points, what are the best practices, and what did the practitioners bring to the table?

Speakers:
  • Mohammad Nurunnabi, Chair of Dept. of Accounting, Prince Sultan University
  • Shawn Mauldin, Director, Mississippi State University

(C3) iSER Preparation: How to get through your iSER

What does it take to do a successful initial self-evaluation report (iSER)? This session will focus on what’s expected under the 2020 standards.

Speakers:
  • Joyce A. Strawser, Dean, Seton Hall University
  • John T. Delaney, Dean, American University

03:15 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:15 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

03:15 a.m.–04:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Accounting Accreditation Follow up– Resources and Insight from the APQ

Join us for an overview of available resources and data provided from the Accounting Programs Questionnaire (APQ). The APQ pertains just to the accounting-accredited units/programs and will provide insight from schools that have achieved accounting accreditation.

Speakers:
  • Joshua D. Barillas, Manager, Data Analysis, AACSB International
  • Jeanine Romano, Director, Business Education Data, Benchmarking, and Analysis, AACSB International
  • R. Colin Nelson, Senior Manager, Business Education Research and Data Services, AACSB International

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

10:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

04:00 a.m.–05:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Networking Opportunities
Friday, September 25, 2020

07:00 a.m.–08:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:00 p.m.–02:00 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

07:00 p.m.–08:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(D1) Data Management

This session will feature best practices from schools managing multiple accreditors. How do you build an environment around data management at your institution? Presenters will share processes to best implement this culture, manage data and streamline efforts.

Speakers:
  • Carol Dowse, Data Improvement Projects Manager, Curtin University
  • Kriengkrai Tankoonsombut, Assistant Dean, Accreditation and Quality Assurance, College of Management, Mahidol University

(D2) AoL and Delivery (REPEATED)

This session will share templates and tools to improve your AoL assessments. Speakers will explore the difference between 2013 and the 2020 standards and offer examples and guidance for effectively closing the loop with indirect measures.

Speakers:
  • Marion Debruyne, Dean, Vlerick Business School
  • Nancy A. Bagranoff, University Professor, University of Richmond

(D3) Online Portfolios and Accreditation

How do you manage online programs and reporting for accreditation? This session will explore AACSB Virtual visit protocol and feature best practices from schools who are in different stages of the decision-making process.

Speakers:
  • Hirokazu Kono, Former Dean, Professor of Operations Management, Keio University
  • Lisa Anderson, AD Postgraduate, University of Liverpool Management School

(D4) iSER Preparation: How to get through your iSER (REPEATED)

What does it take to do a successful initial self-evaluation report (iSER)? This session will focus on what’s expected under the 2020 standards.

Speakers:
  • Joyce A. Strawser, Dean, Seton Hall University
  • John T. Delaney, Dean, American University

08:15 a.m.–09:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:15 p.m.–03:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:15 p.m.–09:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote II: An Update on the State of Reimagining Accreditation & Transition Planning

This session will provide an update on the project to reimagine accreditation, which encompasses new and improved standards, accreditation processes, and volunteer training. The session will also discuss the standards transition plan and what actions schools can begin to take to start aligning with the 2020 standards. Attendees will learn strategies for planning for an effective first visit under the new standards, and the session will include sufficient time for attendee questions.

Speakers:
  • Stephanie M. Bryant, Executive Vice President and Chief Accreditation Officer, AACSB International
  • Geoff Perry, EVP and Chief AP Officer, AACSB International
  • Nancy A. Bagranoff, University Professor, University of Richmond

09:30 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:30 p.m.–04:30 p.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:30 p.m.–10:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

KEYNOTE II Breakout Sessions