Europe, Middle East, and Africa Annual Conference

26-29 October 2020

EMEA Annual Conference Agenda

Sessions will be recorded and made available on The AACSB Exchange to all EMEA attendees. To accommodate multiple time zones, some live sessions will be repeated. Conference sessions are subject to change. Please check back regularly for the latest schedule.

Monday, October 26, 2020

08:00 a.m.–09:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:00 p.m.–02:00 p.m.
Central European Time

08:00 p.m.–09:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

AACSB Membership and Quality Assurance Information Session

Join this session to learn how you can optimally engage in the AACSB Business Education Alliance and what is new and available to you. Staff will also introduce the AACSB accreditation process and answer questions.

09:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Central European Time

09:00 p.m.–12:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Affinity Groups – more information coming soon
Tuesday, October 27, 2020

04:00 a.m.–05:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Central European Time

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote I: Planning for the Future: The Impact of COVID-19 on Business Education

In this session presenters will discuss the impact of COVID-19 on business education, as well as offer strategies and practical solutions for moving on during and after crisis.

05:10 a.m.–06:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

10:10 a.m.–11:00 a.m.
Central European Time

05:10 p.m.–06:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote I Follow up Discussion

An opportunity to connect with attendees in an informal setting and small group breakouts to share thoughts and discuss themes from Keynote I.

06:00 a.m.–06:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

11:00 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Central European Time

06:00 p.m.–06:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

06:15 a.m.–07:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

11:15 a.m.–12:15 p.m.
Central European Time

06:15 p.m.–07:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(A1) Online Delivery

What does high quality online learning delivery look like? How do you ensure that appropriate hardware/software exists for online delivery and how do you equip your staff? How do you develop employability skills through online delivery and how do you evaluate the effectiveness of online delivery?


(A2) Digital Innovations

Presenters will share examples of schools experimenting with latest technologies and discuss the impact of virtual reality, artificial intelligence, and blockchain on higher education.

07:15 a.m.–08:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

12:15 p.m.–01:30 p.m.
Central European Time

07:15 p.m.–08:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break and LIVE Interactive Networking with Exhibitors

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

LIVE Networking with Exhibitors: Visit our virtual exhibitor showcase to chat live with exhibitors as they showcase innovative solutions and the latest products and services in business education. These industry experts can help you solve problems, reach your goals, and discover groundbreaking ideas to bring back to your institution.

08:30 a.m.–09:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

01:30 p.m.–02:30 p.m.
Central European Time

08:30 p.m.–09:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(B1) The Impact of COVID-19 on Schools’ Operating Budgets

Globally, 60 percent of schools expect reduced student enrollment or intake to have a significant impact on their operating budget and financial strategies. How are business schools in EMEA operating with reduced budgets and what are the strategies for driving cost savings.


(B2) Virtual Student Mobility

What will be the implications for international student mobility? International students enrol at universities not only for the learning experience, but for the social and cultural learning that immersion in a foreign country provides. Online learning only partially meets the expectations of these students. How will international student mobility change in the near future? How does pedagogy adapt to meet the needs of students?

09:30 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:30 p.m.–03:00 p.m.
Central European Time

09:30 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Time

10:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(C1) Business School Supporting Local Communities

Presenters will share examples of schools’ social impact activities around faculty research, teaching, operations, and students’ projects.


(C2) Innovations That Inspire: Catalysts for Innovation

The demand for innovation that engages experts across disciplines and addresses the needs of both local and global communities has never been more apparent than in these unprecedented times. Representatives from schools highlighted by the 2020 Innovations That Inspire challenge will discuss their featured innovations supporting entrepreneurship, intrapreneurship, and innovation.

11:00 a.m.–11:10 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 p.m.–04:10 p.m.
Central European Time

11:00 p.m.–11:10 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

11:10 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:10 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Central European Time

11:10 p.m.–12:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

AACSB DataDirect: Your Source for Data-Driven Decisions

AACSB's DataDirect is widely recognized as the world's primary source for business school education data. Join us to learn more about new features and learn more strategies to benchmark your school's trends against your peers.

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

04:00 a.m.–05:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Central European Time

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote II: Risk Management and Survival of the Fittest in Challenging Times

We all are dealing with a fast and unexpected change in the environment. The ability to adjust to a new situation, to mobilize resources and to change the familiar approach to something new, is crucial. In this session, presenters will discuss how the new methods of teaching, hiring, or doing research are challenging business schools to be more adaptable and innovative than ever before.

05:00 a.m.–05:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

10:00 a.m.–10:15 a.m.
Central European Time

05:00 p.m.–05:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

05:15 a.m.–06:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

10:15 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Central European Time

05:15 p.m.–06:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Mindfulness in the Workplace

The importance of (mental) health at work has never been more important. Learn practical examples that you can apply at your institution, and in your personal life.

06:30 a.m.–07:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

11:30 a.m.–12:15 p.m.
Central European Time

06:30 p.m.–07:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Accreditation Q&A

If you have an upcoming accreditation visit in the next two years, this session is for you! We invite you to bring questions related to the accreditation process.

07:30 a.m.–08:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

12:30 p.m.–01:30 p.m.
Central European Time

07:30 p.m.–08:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(D1) Delivering Interdisciplinary Programmes

No one discipline can single-handedly solve the world’s grand challenges. Business schools should seize opportunities to reinforce the complementarities between business education and other fields, including science, engineering, health care, and education. This collaboration will require expanding the models and incentives that support interdisciplinary research and the structures to facilitate interdisciplinary learning. In this session, presenters will share examples of interdisciplinary course design and delivery.


(D2) Corporate Engagement

What challenges exist for maintaining and developing relationships with industry? Will corporate engagement become ‘local’ as students are restricted in travelling internationally? Can we learn from the current experience of industry leaders in equipping students for the future?