Asia Pacific Annual Conference

19-22 October 2020

Asia Pacific Annual Conference Agenda

Sessions will be recorded and made available on The AACSB Exchange to all conference attendees. Conference sessions are subject to change. Please check back regularly for the latest schedule.

Monday, October 19, 2020

08:30 p.m.–08:40 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:30 a.m.–02:40 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:30 a.m.–08:40 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Virtual Platform Exploration

Explore the Hopin platform to learn about navigating and networking opportunities for a successful conference experience.

08:30 p.m.–12:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:30 a.m.–06:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:30 a.m.–12:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Exhibitor Showcase Open

08:45 p.m.–09:25 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

02:45 a.m.–03:25 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

08:45 a.m.–09:25 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Welcome and 2020 Standards Overview

Join us for a welcome from AACSB’s President and CEO Caryn L. Beck-Dudley, followed by Geoff Perry, EVP and Chief AP Officer, who will share insights on next steps for the 2020 Business Accreditation Standards.

09:30 p.m.–10:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:30 a.m.–04:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:30 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote I: Lessons Learned and Moving Forward in Global Uncertainty

This past year universities across the globe were forced to make quick and necessary changes to standard procedures as we adapt to a new norm and explore alternative models and practices for higher education. This discussion session shares insights into what others have done, turning challenges into opportunities as higher education transitions throughout and beyond the pandemic.

Sponsored by Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Speakers:
  • Jikyeong Kang, President, Dean and MVP Professor, Marketing, Asian Institute of Management
  • Martin Lockett, Dean, Nottingham University Business School China, The University of Nottingham
  • Simon Wilkie, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics; Head, Monash Business School, Monash Business School, Monash University

10:40 p.m.–11:20 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:40 a.m.–05:20 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:40 a.m.–11:20 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

BREAKOUTS: Interactive Discussions

Join facilitated, small group discussions and explore best practices and lessons learned from your peers.

11:30 p.m.–12:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

05:30 a.m.–06:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Membership and Quality Assurance Information Session

Join this session to learn how you can optimally engage in the AACSB Business Education Alliance. AACSB Staff will introduce you to the member benefits and resources available and will provide an introduction to the AACSB accreditation process.

Speakers:
  • Liyan Chen, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International

12:30 a.m.–01:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:30 a.m.–07:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:30 p.m.–01:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Social Hour with Spinphony

Bring your beverage of choice and enjoy a 15-minute concert, followed by small group breakouts for networking and casual conversation with colleagues. The dazzling female electric string quartet, Spinphony, is breaking down barriers between classical, rock, and pop music, mixing and mashing catchy melodies into their own unique arrangements. Whether you are a fan of Bach, ACDC, Journey, or Mozart, these virtuosic ladies will have you toe-tapping to some of the greatest melodies of all time.

01:45 a.m.–02:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

07:45 a.m.–08:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

01:45 p.m.–02:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

MBA for Working Professionals Affinity Group Meeting

The MBA for Working Professionals Affinity Group includes representatives from AACSB-accredited institutions with working professional MBA program enrollment of significant size (generally, 35% + of total MBA enrollment)


Online Learning Affinity Group Meeting

Faculty, administrators, and learning technologists from any member organization with interest and responsibilities in online learning


Small Schools Network Affinity Group Meeting

The Small Schools Network Affinity Group includes representatives from schools with 35 or fewer full-time faculty

03:00 a.m.–04:00 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

03:00 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Diversity & Inclusion Affinity Group Meeting

Individuals at AACSB member schools with interest and responsibilities in advocating for diversity and inclusion in academia and schools of business around the world


Responsible Management Education Affinity Group Meeting

Management educators committed to advancing sustainability, corporate responsibility, social entrepreneurship and innovation, the Globally Responsible Leadership Initiative (GRLI), and the Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME)

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

09:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 a.m.–04:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(A1) Doing More with Less

How is your institution finding cost saving measures and adjusting budgeting processes to do more with less?

Speakers:
  • Paul Kofman, Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Melbourne
  • Lay Yan Yeo, Programme Director, Postgraduate Programmes, Singapore Management University

(A2) Turbo Charging Digital Literacies

Re-evaluating, reinventing, or redesigning the blended/online classroom

Speakers:
  • P. D. Jose, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Management Bangalore
  • Sandra Luxton, Dean (Learning Innovation), Swinburne University of Technology

09:00 p.m.–12:40 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 a.m.–06:40 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 a.m.–12:40 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Exhibitor Showcase Open

10:00 p.m.–10:10 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 a.m.–04:10 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:00 a.m.–10:10 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Speed Networking

Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

10:10 p.m.–10:25 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:10 a.m.–04:25 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:10 a.m.–10:25 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DataDirect

10:25 p.m.–11:15 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:25 a.m.–05:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:25 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break and LIVE Interactive Networking with Exhibitors

Visit our virtual exhibitor showcase to chat live with exhibitors as they showcase innovative solutions and the latest products and services in business education. These industry experts can help you solve problems, reach your goals, and discover groundbreaking ideas to bring back to your institution.

11:15 p.m.–12:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

05:15 a.m.–06:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

11:15 a.m.–12:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(B1) Experiences Sharing on Risk Mitigation during the COVID-19 Pandemic

In an unprecedented move, the world chose to fight the Covid-19 pandemic by observing a global lockdown. With so much uncertainty surrounding the future and if such lockdowns may become common to fight it is expected that higher education institutions will need to identify the risks and develop mitigation strategies. Join this session for insight into some techniques used in mitigation planning.

Speakers:
  • Sanjay Padode, Secretary, Center for Development Education, IFIM Business School
  • Yuan Ding, Vice President and Dean, Professor of Accounting, Cathay Capital Chair in Accounting, China Europe International Business School (CEIBS)

(B2) Engagement in Times of Disruption

We will understand the changes to engagement posed by disruption. We will look at the following stakeholders: alumni, students, faculty, staff and industry. We will take a couple of stakeholders, and understand a multi-pronged approach to engagement. A lot of focus will be given to students and alumni engagement, and the ways in which technology can be leveraged to compensate for the 'warmth' of physical interaction.

Speakers:
  • Jawad Syed, Professor, Lahore University of Management Sciences
  • Ranjan Banerjee, Dean, S.P. Jain Institute of Management and Research

12:20 a.m.–12:40 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:20 a.m.–06:40 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:20 p.m.–12:40 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Expo Demo Session 1
Wednesday, October 21, 2020

09:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 a.m.–04:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(C1) Tools for Examining AoL Data and Continuous Improvement

This session explores methods and tools to measure, report and continuously improve AoL assessment in order for learners to achieve learning competencies. Exemplar practices and access to resources used by faculty will be shared with participants. Hear about the differences between the 2013 and 2020 Standards, as well as practices specific to schools in Asia Pacific.

Speakers:
  • Amanda Gudmundsson, Executive Dean, Queensland University of Technology
  • Venkata Yanamandram, Associate Professor and Director, Assurance of Learning, University of Wollongong

(C2) Quality, Diversity, and Partnership Building

A network of quality partners is often the cornerstone of a school’s internationalization strategy. Quality partners facilitate student and faculty exchange, research collaboration, and potential joint/double degrees. The purpose of this session is to illustrate two alternative approaches to growing partner sets: 1) an organic approach, and 2) a structured approach. Attendees will receive insights for building their partner sets in their home institution.

Speakers:
  • Rohit Verma, Dean of external relations, Cornell University
  • Gerard Prendergast, Associate Dean, Hong Kong Baptist University

09:00 p.m.–12:40 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 a.m.–06:40 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 a.m.–12:40 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Exhibitor Showcase Open

10:00 p.m.–10:15 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 a.m.–04:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:00 a.m.–10:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Chair Yoga

Take a break! Join us for gentle breathing and stretching exercises that can be done right at your desk. During a time when so many of us are seated in front of our computers for long periods of time, incorporate these adapted yoga poses and stretches for a much-needed pause and stress reducer. Accessible to all levels and ages; no equipment or change of clothes needed!

10:15 p.m.–10:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:15 a.m.–04:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:15 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DataDirect

10:30 p.m.–11:15 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:30 a.m.–05:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:30 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break and LIVE Interactive Exhibitor Networking

Visit our virtual exhibitor showcase to chat live with exhibitors as they showcase innovative solutions and the latest products and services in business education. These industry experts can help you solve problems, reach your goals, and discover groundbreaking ideas to bring back to your institution.

11:15 p.m.–12:15 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

05:15 a.m.–06:15 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

11:15 a.m.–12:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(D1) Faculty Qualifications

This session will explore changes in the 2020 standards on faculty and examples on effective development strategies.

Speakers:
  • Geoff Perry, EVP and Chief Officer, Asia Pacific, AACSB International
  • Lin Zhou, Dean, CUHK Business School, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

(D2) Social Impact – Opportunities and Challenges

How are business schools maintaining a focus on social impact within our communities

Speakers:
  • Vincent H. Chang, President and Vice-Chancellor, BRAC University
  • Gengzhong Feng, Dean, Xi'an Jiaotong University

12:20 a.m.–12:40 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:20 a.m.–06:40 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:20 p.m.–12:40 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Expo Demo Session 2
Thursday, October 22, 2020

09:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 a.m.–04:00 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote II: Collaborative Industry and University Partnerships

There is a long history of stakeholder engagement in higher education and the benefits that can ensue for both industry partners and universities. These partnerships are, however, not without their difficulties when it comes to establishing and maintaining relationships. Business schools are under pressure to strengthen stakeholder relations and demonstrate societal impact. This session discusses the case of a new collaborative program that has led to a shift in how industry and academia work together to enhance human capacity in the export trade sector in Asia. Through the case study and related research, challenges will be examined and recommendations for building fully integrated and ongoing partner relationships will be addressed.

Speakers:
  • Gael McDonald, Education Strategist & Former President, RMIT International University Vietnam

09:00 p.m.–01:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

03:00 a.m.–07:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

09:00 a.m.–01:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Exhibitor Showcase Open

10:00 p.m.–10:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:00 a.m.–04:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:00 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Virtual Coffee Room

Network in an informal setting and share the latest book, podcast, or movie you enjoyed.

10:35 p.m.–10:50 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:35 a.m.–04:50 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:35 a.m.–10:50 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DataDirect

10:50 p.m.–11:30 p.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

04:50 a.m.–05:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

10:50 a.m.–11:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Break and LIVE Interactive Exhibitor Networking

Visit our virtual exhibitor showcase to chat live with exhibitors as they showcase innovative solutions and the latest products and services in business education. These industry experts can help you solve problems, reach your goals, and discover groundbreaking ideas to bring back to your institution.

11:30 p.m.–12:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

05:30 a.m.–06:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(E1) Impactful Research: Post-COVID-19 Challenges & Opportunities

This presentation provides an overview of actions and pathways to preventing the spread of COVID-19 and map strategies for maintaining impactful research in the post-COVID19 world from the perspective of universities. Specifically, the presentation will illustrate measures taken by Guanghua School of Management, Peking University (China) and NUCB Business School (Japan) to continue the smooth operation of these institutions, which includes the delivery of classes, holding meetings, conducting relevant research addressing economic and social issues caused by COVID-19, providing student services and so forth, while at the same time implementing mitigation measures to ensure the safety of the respective School's students, faculty and staff.

Speakers:
  • Tim Desmond, Senior Advisor and Project Manager, Nagoya University of Commerce and Business
  • Qiao Liu, Dean, Peking University

(E2) Managing International Mobility

Students seek social and cultural interactions in their collegiate career. How do universities adapt to meet these expectations and maintain cultural learning and experiences?

Speakers:
  • Shing-yang Hu, Dean, National Taiwan University
  • Yongjune Paul Kim, Dean, Sungkyunkwan University

12:40 a.m.–01:30 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

06:40 a.m.–07:30 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

12:40 p.m.–01:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Accreditation Visit Q&A

If you have an upcoming accreditation visit in the next two years, this session is for you! We invite you to bring questions related to the accreditation process.

Speakers:
  • Liyan Chen, Manager, Accreditation Services, AACSB International
  • Pasu Decharin, Faculty, Chulalongkorn University

01:30 a.m.–01:45 a.m.
Eastern Daylight Time

07:30 a.m.–07:45 a.m.
Central European Summer Time

01:30 p.m.–01:45 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Meditative Concert: Sound Bath

To close out the conference, we invite you to take a pause to relax, reset, and recharge with sounds, chants, and vibrations as they are channeled through Tibetan singing bowls, crystal singing bowls and voice. A sound bath is an improvised meditative “concert” to support a state of deep relaxation and allow healing of all body systems. Immerse yourself in this gentle and powerful experience.