Global Diversity and Inclusion Summit

December 7-9, 2020

Global Diversity and Inclusion Summit

Why D&I Should Remain a Core Part of the Agenda in Response to Covid-19

Global Diversity and Inclusion Summit

Unlock the Power of D&I in Times of Crisis

Global Diversity and Inclusion Summit Agenda

All summit sessions and times are subject to change - check back regularly for the latest schedule.

Monday, December 7, 2020

11:00 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

05:00 p.m.–05:15 p.m.
Central European Time

12:00 a.m.–12:15 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Virtual Platform Exploration

Before the program begins, we welcome you to take a moment to introduce yourself and become familiar with our easy-to-use conference platform, Hopin.

11:15 a.m.–11:30 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

05:15 p.m.–05:30 p.m.
Central European Time

12:15 a.m.–12:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Summit Welcome

Join us for a welcome message from Caryn L. Beck-Dudley, President & CEO of AACSB International.

11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

05:30 p.m.–06:30 p.m.
Central European Time

12:30 a.m.–01:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote I

Join us for industry insight to better prepare students for a corporate culture focused on diversity, inclusion and belonging (DIB).

12:35 p.m.–01:35 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

06:35 p.m.–07:35 p.m.
Central European Time

01:35 a.m.–02:35 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Global Panel: The Urgency of the Moment

It is time now to stop recounting what has happened and come together as business schools to look forward and decide what we will do differently to make the world a more inclusive place.

01:45 p.m.–02:45 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

07:45 p.m.–08:45 p.m.
Central European Time

02:45 a.m.–03:45 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(A1) Prioritization of DIB during a Crisis

Despite the crisis, business schools must commit to initiatives and take responsibility, requiring inclusive practices that support students, staff, faculty, administration, and the school’s bottom line. This session will explore systematic, business-led approaches to building a culture diversity, inclusion and belonging into everything you do.


(A2) Implementing ‘Belonging’ into your DIB Initiatives

The session will explore how initiatives must reach beyond D&I to embrace peoples’ unique traits and allow students or employees to feel they belong in your organization and have the psychological safety to be their authentic selves without fear of judgement.


(A3) Progressing Gender Representation in Higher Ed

This session will explore ideas to set strategic, university-wide objectives for gender diversity and improve career mobility options for women. Presenters will share ideas and solutions to overcome common challenges and barriers for women in Higher Ed, including inclusive practices to support female faculty in the wake of COVID19.


(A4) Connecting Advocacy and Policy

How do you engage stakeholders with DIB initiatives and empower them so it makes sense for your organization’s culture? Learn how others have taken a bold stand for good, making short term sacrifices for long term positive impact.

03:00 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

09:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Central European Time

04:00 a.m.–05:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(B1) Promoting Diversity, Inclusion, and Belonging in Remote Work Environments

COVID-19 instantaneously accelerated a growing acceptance of remote work arrangement. This session will offer action items towards improving efficacy of DIB in the remote context of your specific institution as well as an ongoing conversation about continuous quality improvement related to these strategies.


(B2) Inclusive Societies for Those with Disabilities

Presenters will share their experiences pioneering a project for positive societal impact and brought new meaning and purpose to their students, staff, faculty and out community. Teach your students to be ambassadors of a cause and enrich your university’s offer by addressing exciting and impactful social issues.


(B3) DIB Efforts and Marketing

How should organizations approach marketing and communication around DIB efforts? This session will share best practice for sharing efforts tactfully, honestly, and with forward focus. Presenters will explore what data and information you should share, and when, as well as the importance of a narrative that is focused on future efforts rather than past accomplishments.


(B4) Making the Grade and Moving the Needle: The Business Case for DIB Education in Business Schools

This session will share ideas to effectively communicate the business case for DIB education to administration as they seek to incorporate DIB into curriculum. Learn to best articulate the value add of students who possess DIB competencies when engaging with campus recruiters, talent managers and corporate partners.

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

10:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Central European Time

05:00 a.m.–06:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Social Hour
Tuesday, December 8, 2020

10:00 a.m.–11:00 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

04:00 p.m.–05:00 p.m.
Central European Time

11:00 p.m.–12:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DESIGN YOUR TIME

This is your time! Take advantage of networking opportunities before the session gets started at 11:00am.

Expo session: 10:05pm – 10:35pm

Speed Networking Spotlight: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

1:1 Meeting Rooms: In addition to direct messaging, you can set up private one-on-one calls with audio and video with fellow conference attendees.

11:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

05:00 p.m.–06:00 p.m.
Central European Time

12:00 a.m.–01:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

PANEL: Inclusion into Curriculum: Practical Implementation

Speakers from different parts of the world will share examples of how they are implementing inclusive curriculum into various disciplines of the business school.

12:00 p.m.–12:30 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

06:00 p.m.–06:30 p.m.
Central European Time

01:00 a.m.–01:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

BREAKOUT SESSIONS – Inclusion into Curriculum: Practical Implementation

12:30 p.m.–01:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

06:30 p.m.–07:00 p.m.
Central European Time

01:30 a.m.–02:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DESIGN YOUR TIME

This is your time! Rest and relax, or take advantage of networking opportunities:

Expo session: 12:35pm - 12:55pm

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

1:1 Meeting Rooms: In addition to direct messaging, you can set up private one-on-one calls with audio and video with fellow conference attendees.

01:00 p.m.–02:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

07:00 p.m.–08:00 p.m.
Central European Time

02:00 a.m.–03:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DIB TED TALKS

This session will feature brief TED Talk-style presentations offering practical actions business schools have taken that produced quick results and a springboard to bigger things. Join us for innovative thoughts and ideas that have highlighted an issue and made impact.

02:00 p.m.–03:00 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

08:00 p.m.–09:00 p.m.
Central European Time

03:00 a.m.–04:00 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

NETWORKING OPPORTUNITIES
Wednesday, December 9, 2020

04:30 a.m.–05:15 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

10:30 a.m.–11:15 a.m.
Central European Time

05:30 p.m.–06:15 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

NETWORKING OPPORTUNITIES

07:30 a.m.–08:30 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

01:30 p.m.–02:30 p.m.
Central European Time

08:30 p.m.–09:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(C1) Allyship and Inclusive Leadership Practices

This session will share how others are responding to social movements and taking a stand to build trust in their organizations, increase awareness, and make bold moves to build an inclusive culture.


(C2) DIB and Faculty

This session will explore solutions for faculty diversification challenges and offer strategies for recruitment and retention, including establishing a search team and implementing tenure track efforts to include under-represented candidates.


(C3) DIB Post-COVID: Empowering Students by Showing up in New Ways

This session will share ideas to create a roadmap for student wellness, including strategies to support indigenous populations and those who are socioeconomically disadvantaged.


(C4) Industry Perspective: Assessing Efforts

How do you measure the success of your DIB efforts? How do you conduct gap analysis and assess risk areas? This session will share initiative assessment examples from industry.

08:45 a.m.–09:00 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

02:45 p.m.–03:00 p.m.
Central European Time

09:45 p.m.–10:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Wellness Break: Creating Luminous Spaces: desk edition

This short presentation will offer ideas to build a place that inspires you. In her book, Creating Luminous Spaces, Maureen Calamia explores using feng shui and biophilic design to achieve greater harmony in our lives. Tap into the wisdom of the five elements and take away exercises, meditations, and practical ways to enhance your workstation.

09:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

03:00 p.m.–04:00 p.m.
Central European Time

10:00 p.m.–11:00 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote II: Impact on Society as An Indicator of Quality / A Conversation with Ken Bouyer

This session will share practical actions business schools can take to influence society at local, regional, national, and/or international level and how to best define objectives and strategies that will create positive impacts for the communities your business school serves. We will discuss Standard 9 of the new 2020 Business Accreditation Standards, which specifically covers diversity and inclusion as a component of societal impact.

10:00 a.m.–10:30 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

04:00 p.m.–04:30 p.m.
Central European Time

11:00 p.m.–11:30 p.m.
Singapore Standard Time

DESIGN YOUR TIME

This is your time! Rest and relax, or take advantage of networking opportunities:

Speed Networking: Take advantage of this opportunity to get to know fellow conference attendees! Simply enter the Speed Networking area and you will be paired with another conference attendee and can meet for up to 3 minutes, using video and audio.

1:1 Meeting Rooms: In addition to direct messaging, you can set up private one-on-one calls with audio and video with fellow conference attendees.

10:30 a.m.–11:30 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

04:30 p.m.–05:30 p.m.
Central European Time

11:30 p.m.–12:30 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

(D1) Developing an Organizational Racial Learning Orientation

This session will address issues of hidden discrimination and lack of opportunity. Speakers will share ideas for breaking down systemic barriers and share what others are doing differently in response to Black Lives Matter.


(D2) Getting Started: A Blueprint

This session will focus on how to get started and will be designed for those just moving into a position of diversity officer or just beginning to take on shared DIB responsibilities. Speakers will offer insights to establish institutional baselines, construct building blocks for real change, as well as strategies to gain buy-in and best practices to form effective committees or task forces.


(D3) Funding DIB Initiatives

This session will share examples of ingenuity and explore how others are leveraging existing resources to further their initiatives.


(D4) The World Ahead for DIB

This session will explore how employers and other stakeholders will continue to navigate DIB as they respond to the pandemic crisis, and how business schools can best support initiatives for inclusion of students, faculty, staff and administrators in higher education settings to ultimately create positive societal impact.

11:30 a.m.–11:45 a.m.
Eastern Standard Time

05:30 p.m.–05:45 p.m.
Central European Time

12:30 a.m.–12:45 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Wellness Break: Chair Yoga

Gentle breathing and stretching exercises you can do right at your desk. Accessible to all levels & ages. No equipment or change of clothes required.

11:45 a.m.–12:45 p.m.
Eastern Standard Time

05:45 p.m.–06:45 p.m.
Central European Time

12:45 a.m.–01:45 a.m.
Singapore Standard Time

Keynote II: Impact on Society as An Indicator of Quality

This session will share practical actions business schools can take to influence society at local, regional, national, and/or international level and how to best define objectives and strategies that will create positive impacts for the communities your business school serves. We will discuss Standard 9 of the new 2020 Business Accreditation Standards, which specifically covers diversity and inclusion as a component of societal impact.