Initial Accreditation Committees (IAC)
Access the Committee Exchange Site


The Initial Accreditation Committee (IAC) oversees the acceptance of eligibility applications, approves the initial Self-Evaluation Report (iSER), guides institutions in the implementation of the plans and oversees processes for initial business accreditation. The ultimate responsibility of the Committee is to ensure consistency of Accreditation Standards application and equity of recommendations across teams and across programs reviewed.


IAC is composed of between thirty-two and forty members, half of who serve on each of the IAC's two operating subcommittees (IAC-Y and IAC-Z). The two subcommittees are headed by a single IAC Chair with Vice Chairs appointed to each subcommittee. The subcommittees are responsible for dealing with the accreditation caseload.

Committee member assignments reflect the schools served by the Committee and consider geographical area, type of institution, and experience with accreditation. Committee members are appointed by the Vice Chair-Chair Elect (who shall preside as Board Chair during the year for which the appointments are made). Committee members may be current or former business school administrators, faculty members and corporate executives. The IAC Chair and Vice Chairs are business school administrators from AACSB accredited Organizations. Normally, committee members serve staggered three-year terms, up to a maximum of two terms. Normally, the IAC chair and vice chairs serve two consecutive one-year terms, and must be reappointed to these roles on an annual basis.


Joyce Strawser, Seton Hall University

IAC Y Vice Chair

Barry Burgan, Bond University

IAC Z Vice Chair

Peter Lindstrom, University of St. Gallen

IAC Y Members

Andreas Altmann, MCI Management Center Innsbruck
Raju Balakrishnan, University of Michigan - Dearborn
Brigitte Chanoine, ICHEC Brussels Management School
Thomas Cleff, Pforzheim University
Murray Dalziel, University of Baltimore
Frank Ghannadian, The University of Tampa
Thami Ghorfi, ESCA Ecole de Management
Mary Gowan, University of North Georgia
Ross James, University of Canterbury
Jiye "Jerry" Mao, Renmin University of China
Rowena Ortiz-Walters, St. Mary's University
Lawrence Rose, California State University, San Bernardino
Deborah Spake, Kent State University
Ahmad Tootoonchi, University of Tennessee at Martin
Igwe Udeh, Southern University at New Orleans
Beth Walker, Colorado State University

IAC Z Members

Donald Andrews, Southern University and A&M College
Roberto Curci, Dominican University
Thomas Froehlicher, Rennes School of Business
Donald Gibson, Manhattan College
Hassan HassabElnaby, Northern Kentucky University
Che Ruhana Isa, University of Malaya
Eric Jack, University of Alabama-Birmingham
Sherif Kamel, The American University of Cairo
Sandeep Krishnamurthy, University of Washington Bothell
Diana Lawson, Grand Valley State University
Djuro Njavro, Zagreb School of Economics and Management
Terry O’Neill, Bond University
Joseph Phillips, Seattle University
Barbara Ritter, Jacksonville University
David Sollars, Washburn University
Ira Weiss, North Carolina State University
Yugang Yu, University of Science and Technology of China

Staff Liaison

 Suzanne Mintz ([email protected])