Accounting Accreditation Policy Committee (AAPC)


The Accounting Accreditation Policy Committee (AAPC) fulfills six primary roles:
  • Determines policies, processes and practices specific to accounting accreditation not otherwise designated in the Policy Governance Manual;
  • Engages thought leaders from the Innovation Committee, the Business Practices Advisory Council and the accounting professional community in advancing accounting accreditation;
  • Recommends changes in the Accounting Accreditation Standards to the Board;
  • Authorizes changes in the accounting accreditation eligibility criteria, Accreditation Standards interpretive material, and accreditation processes related to accounting accreditation and quality assurance services;
  • Coordinates the work of the Accounting Accreditation Committee; and
  • Coordinates activities and polices with the Business Accreditation Policy Committee.
  • Structure

    AAPC consists of up to 15 members appointed by the AACSB Vice Chair-Chair Elect (who shall preside as Board Chair during the year for which the appointments are made) to include:
  • Chair and Vice Chair of the Accounting Accreditation Committee.
  • Two members from the AACSB Board of Directors, Innovations Committee and/or Business Practices Council.
  • Additional members representing both the academic and professional accounting communities in roughly equal proportion.
  • The Vice Chair-Chair Elect shall designate an AAPC Chair and Vice Chair from among the AAPC members.
  • To ensure continuity, AAPC members may be reappointed for up to four consecutive one-year terms.
  • Chair

    Mark Higgins, Saint Louis University 

    Vice Chair

    Bruce Behn, University of Tennessee at Knoxville
    Tracey Golden, Association of International Certified Professional Accountants


    Frank Buckless, North Carolina State University
    William “Hunter” Cook, Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP
    Ellen J. Glazerman, Ernst & Young Foundation LLP
    Yvonne L. Hinson, American Accounting Association
    George W. Krull, Jr., Grant Thornton LLP
    Shawn Mauldin, Mississippi State University
    Gary McGill, University of Florida
    Jan R. Williams, University of Tennessee at Knoxville

    Ex Officio

    Caryn L. Beck-Dudley, ([email protected])

    Staff Liaison

    Stephanie Bryant ([email protected])