Innovation Committee


The Innovation Committee is charged with helping to empower business education providers and their partners to move deeply, strategically, and successfully in pursuit of new opportunities that positively impact business and society. The Innovation Committee explores emerging innovations and effective practices, helps to incubate ideas and a vision for business education, and guides AACSB efforts to develop reports and other content aimed at helping business education providers and their stakeholders to understand the related challenges and opportunities. The Committee evaluates issues and challenges and makes recommendations to the Board on AACSB policies, plans, and tactics for addressing identified challenges and opportunities. The Committee may commission independent research within the annual operating and capital budgets approved by the Board.


The Innovation Committee is appointed by the Vice Chair-Chair Elect (who shall preside as Board Chair during the year for which the appointments are made) in consultation with the current Board Chair and the incoming Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect. The Committee is composed of at least seven members with representation from accredited and non-accredited educational Organizations, and business Organizations. Appointments should ensure that the Committee has the appropriate knowledge and skill set to fulfill its responsibilities. A majority of the Committee must be current members of the AACSB Board.

The Innovation Committee is chaired by the Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect, and members are appointed annually. The current Board Chair serves as Vice Chair of the Committee, and serves as Chair in the absence of the Committee Chair. The composition of the Committee should reflect AACSB’s commitment to diversity and inclusion, and members normally serve a maximum of three, one-year terms, which may run consecutively. The Board Vice Chair-Chair Elect (who shall preside as Board Chair during the year for which the appointments are made) may extend term limits as deemed necessary to fulfill the charge of the Committee.

Caryn L. Beck-Dudley
Santa Clara University

Vice Chair-Chair Elect
Soumitra Dutta
Cornell University

Thomas R. Robinson

AACSB International 


Maryam Alavi
Georgia Institute of Technology

Michael J. Arena

General Motors Corporation
Luiz Artur Ledur Brito
Fundação Getulio Vargas, São Paulo
Max S. Carrier
Gerard George
Singapore Management University
Amy Hillman
Arizona State University
Santiago Iñiguez de Onzoño
IE University
Erika Hayes James
Emory University
Eli Jones
Texas A&M University
Jikyeong Kang
Asian Institute of Management
Tiff Macklem
University of Toronto
Bethany Mayer
Ixia Solutions Group, Keysight Technologies
Enase Felicia Okonedo
Lagos Business School
François Ortalo-Magné
London Business School
Eric F. Rodríguez
Universidad de los Andes
Eric R. Spangenberg
University of California, Irvine
Peter Tufano
University of Oxford
Dominique V. Turpin
Nick van Dam
McKinsey & Company
Philip Vergauwen
Maastricht University
Zhou, Lin
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
 Staff Liaison
Juliane Iannarelli