National Holidays

The following public holidays are observed each year in all states and territories in Australia:


1 January:        New Year's Day*

26 January:      Australia Day

                        Good Friday

                        Easter Saturday

                        Easter Sunday

                        Easter Monday

25 April:           Anzac Day

25 December:   Christmas Day

26 December:   Boxing Day


A minimum of two additional public holidays are declared by each state and territory government; all states/territories celebrate Queen Elizabeth’s birthday, albeit on different days.

For other dates, including school holidays, please see:


*When any of the above national holidays fall on a weekend, an additional public holiday is added, usually on the next available week day.