Undergraduate Studies

    Higher Education

    AQF Level

    Award Type

    Typical Admission Criteria*

    Typical Duration (full-time equivalent)

    Offered by (institution types):

    Level 5


    Successful completion of senior high school studies (Senior Secondary Certificate of Education)

    1 to 2 years

    Universities and non-universities as per “Glossary of higher education providers

    Level 6

    Advanced diploma

    1.5 to 2 years

    Associate degree

    2 years

    Level 7

    Bachelor degree

    3 years

    Level 7

    Bachelor (Honours) degree**

    Bachelor degree

    1 year


    Abbreviation: Australian Quality Framework. Source: AQF qualifications by education sector

    *Minimum English language entry standards are also required in Australia.

    **A Bachelor (Honours) degree may also be embedded in a bachelor degree, typically as an additional year. They typically involve a research thesis during that time.

    Note a bachelor (Honours) is most commonly an award given in conjunction with an undergraduate bachelor degree

    Details on higher education undergraduate:

    Statistics: http://education.gov.au/higher-education-statistics

    Additional information on the different levels is available at Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).

    Additional information on studying in Australia