Award Types

The Australian Government designed the Australia Qualification Framework (AQF) to ensure that qualification titles across the country are consistent and to provide clear rules about the level of education each qualification title represents. There are ten AQF levels which correspond to qualifications covering schools, vocational education and training (VET) and universities.

Higher education awards cover level 5 (diploma) up to level 10 (doctoral) as follows:

  • Level 5    – Diploma
  • Level 6    – Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree
  • Level 7    – Bachelor Degree
  • Level 8    – Bachelor Honours Degree, Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma
  • Level 9    – Master Degree
  • Level 10 – Doctoral Degree